“Count On Me” by Whitney Houston and CeCe Winans

Where is it? I’ve been searching high and low for it. I can’t find it anymore. I think I’m going crazy. My hands have been shaking for years without it. Someone send me to the mad house soon because I’m going insane. AHHHHHHH!!! They’re coming now. What you say? The tears. You say they were already spilling down my face? *Sniffle.* OK, ok… I’m not really having a mental break down. It just irritates me whenever I watch that glowing box and witness crimes of sisterhood and friendship. Women rip each other’s hair out and purposely cause drama for a little fame and fortune. It drives me crazy to see how the strong bonds we used to have are ripped apart while leaving a grotesque image of what it means to be a woman in this day and age for some people.

I go back to times when a group of women meant a strong force; a union that could not be reckoned with. “Count on Me” by Whitney Houston and CeCe Winans is a simple classic of the trust and the gratitude of what it meant to have someone to rely on. These two beautifully sing the message of true friendship in this “Waiting to Exhale” tune. It was the theme of all my little childhood friendships that felt like forever even though they only lasted a few weeks. This was something I could look up to. My spirit was never in a worry. And the world was filled with flowers, bunnies and awesome friends at the end of the day because of women like this. Houston’s voice was the spark of thunder that lit the fire of strength in my heart whenever something would go wrong. Songs like “Count On Me” was an inspiration that kept many going when times were rough. Now, all we have are restaurant brawls, screeching matches and backstabbing to look up to. But then again, the best thing to do is to turn off the TV and count on the women who have the message of the music instilled in them and are actually doing something beneficial with their lives.

Leave a Reply

