Remembering the King

We could never forget the fight of our African American brothers and sisters that paved the way to where we are today. I’ll never forget how my teachers enlightened me about the struggles of Sojourner Truth, Harriet Tubman and Rosa Parks. And I keep them in my heart whenever I face struggles of my own in life. But this particular day in January was marked to remind us of the remarkable courage of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I could only imagine how difficult or scary it might have been for him to lead all those people to Washington, DC that day. We’re so used to thinking about what he did, but sometimes I think about what could have been going through his mind as he did it. He’s brought us the freedom we once never thought was possible for African Americans. I only wish he could see the results of his actions.

I will never take for granted what he has done for us all. But at times, I feel like some African Americans have begun to. Remember, today isn’t just another holiday. Happy Martin Luther King Day everyone. If we forget our past, we have no future.

Leave a Reply

