“Don’t Touch Me” by Rahsaan Patterson

When it comes to R&B music, artists and listeners are enamored by a sensual atmosphere that normally pertains mostly to love. It’s easy to seep into the skin of a welcoming R&B song, but sometimes we forget that the genre’s past originates from rhythm and BLUES. Rahsaan Patterson digs into his heart and shows the world his unfortunate tragedy in his single “Don’t Touch Me.” As the new spokesman for RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network), the largest anti-sexual violence organization in the U.S., he confronts the difficult topic of child sexual abuse in this message bound tune. Patterson doesn’t only want to shed light to the issue; he’s lived it.

“I was sexually assaulted when I was 6 years old and wasn’t able to share it with my family until I was 18. Looking back on it, I wish there was an organization like RAINN that I could have turned to for help with dealing with what happened to me,” Rahsaan revealed in an interview.

“After 30 years I finally have an appreciation and love for myself that has been missing for most of my life,” he said. “The most important thing for me at this point is to be able to communicate through music and art and help others.”

The abuse couldn’t stop Patterson from being such an amazing individual. “Don’t Touch Me” can represent as a voice for the many victims who are raped everyday. I applaud Patterson for speaking up about his abuse for his stance can greatly help others as well.

“Don’t Touch Me” can be streamed here on soundcloud.com.

Source

Leave a Reply

