The Motivation Behind Pain

My body was asking for it; the pain. The tendons in my shoulders and elsewhere have never felt so alive. It’s as if the stretches from my workout were the trigger to letting me know they exist. I could barely walk, it even hurt to sit, but the pain was there. It reminded me of something true and bold: Even through this anguish, good will come of it. With more workouts, my body will return to how it used to be in high school. (well somewhat).

The physical strife I put my body through is something similar to the mental struggles I deal with in trying to improve as a human being. In self reflection and with the helpful opinions of people I love, I know what I need to work on. But at the same time, it’s painful to look in the mirror and see the scars; the ugly parts of me that took so long to figure out. I could spend so much time telling others what they need to work on. I like to give advice and try to help them with their problems or with the problems we’re having. But I never looked at me. In this life, we never stop growing; not a day do we stop maturing. But we can only become our better selves once we take a hard look in the mirror and try to change for the better. It won’t be easy. Self-reflection can be bittersweet. I’m learning so much more about myself, however, it hurts when I’ve realized how much pain I’ve caused others due to my actions. I don’t want to lose the people I love. I also don’t want to lose out on how amazing I could potentially be one day.

God has a plan for me. I know I’m going to do something great with the life I’m given. But like all great things in life, it won’t be easy. The best is always worth fighting for. The physical pain from working out is only a reminder that the scars I see in the mirror will fade away with time and hard work.

Leave a Reply

