Spot, The Unwanted

It’s so easy to forget to take care of your hair. At least for me, I tend to sway from protecting my tresses. It’s up there doing it’s own thang on my head. Why should I worry about it? WRONG!!! It’s essential to take care of your hair. I’m now learning this the hard way.

deep-hair-conditioner-the-heartbeat-lifeEight years ago during my sophomore year of college, I wore micro braids. I thought I was fly rocking these maroon colored braids. Braids are always so fun to wear. There are so many variations to choose from to tickle your fancy and have you riding on a roller coaster of hair styles. Braids were definitely a favorite of mine……until they betrayed me. The stylist who did my hair braided it a bit too tight. When I took them out, there was a horror spot waiting for me to discover. It was a shock to have it just appear like that.  Of course, it came about from the weight of the strands pulling on my actual hair. But it was hard to accept. I was only 19 – too young to have a spot. Luckily, it was very small and unnoticeable. It was so tiny that I began to forget it was there.

Unfortunately, though it was out of mind, it continued to grow. It’s not horribly noticeable, but I always have to cover that area. A stylist last year discovered the spot and suggested I see a dermatologist – a fore sure warning that this little spot has the potential to show some major damage on my scalp. I started doing research about at home remedies to exonerate the little spot which mocks me. There is a lot of different oils that the “internet” says can help grow back the hair. Peppermint, olive, aloe vera, coconut, camphor, almond oil and so much more are all meant to help with hair regrowth. However, it became hard for me to figure out exactly which to choose. Which ones work best? How do I know what will work best for me?

For now, I started using a supplement called Biotin or Vitamin H (or Vitamin Hair?). It is used2015-11-02 15.20.35 to treat biotin deficiency that can be caused by pregnancy, malnutrition, rapid weight loss and long-term feeding according to WebMD. It is also used for skin rashes in infants, diabetes, mild depression and hair loss. I use it in both a pill version and a chew-able (tastes like a berry Starburst. =D). After two months of use, it has not helped my spot at all but has actually helped my hair grow more, my skin appear shinier and my nails grew tougher.

My next steps are to go to a dermatologist and to continue different at home remedies. However, an important lesson through all of this is to make sure to take care of my hair as well as my health. It’s so easy to get carried away with responsibilities or looking your best on the outside. But who’s going to take care of what’s going on the inside? Part of this alopecia could be from stress and lack of good nutrition. As well as what’s written above, I plan to take more measures in keeping my health up to date. For everyone reading this, please be sure to take care of you. Don’t let anything get in the way of the most important person in your life.

Leave a Reply

