Hair Scare!

Death_Note_Ryuk-the-heartbeat-life-2

Ryuk from Death Note

It is crazy how something you practically pushed into non-existence can become such a scary problem. This thing is like a grotesque reminder of why it is never good to let some things slide. It even reminds me of this anime character Ryuk from Death Note – it is always there some how reminding me of my impending doom. Alright, I’m going to pull it back because I’m getting a bit carried away. However, this “terror spot” is no joke and it must be taken seriously.

My best friend Gabby, who has amazing hair styling skills, (Seriously, if you ever need your hair done hit her up.) helped me untangle my hair when I took out my marley twists. She taught me that when taking out transitioning hair it is good to place the hair in a conditioner and to comb through it in order to soften the hair. It is better to do so to also limit how much damage caused to your mane. She saved me from making a terrible mistake. I almost just combed through it without the necessary precautions. When she was helping me out, there was still some breakage to my hair. For any woman who wants to swear they do not let their hair bother them, I’m sure none of them can stand on a soap box and say hair breakage does not have any effect to them. For certain, it woke me up. Then if that was not enough, the “terror spot” had gotten bigger. Gabby informed me that I had to cut more of the permed hair because basically the two textures cannot function together. It is like they are fighting against each other and the natural hair is winning. I have to take more steps to help my hair get from weak to strong. Through all of this, I’m so grateful to have a person like Gabby to be by my side during this process. Me, my hair and my scalp are being reacquainted. The little follicles on my head are desperate to meet me again. Believe me, I’m eager to meet them again too.

In the spirit of this holiday season, I hope to give myself the treat of taking better care of my tresses. Anyone out there who has the gift of advice, support, or whatever you have to offer, it would be greatly appreciated. We could become a part of a community of sisters helping each other out in any hair journey. To all out there, happy holidays. Wishing you all the best to you and your family during this season.

Leave a Reply

