Salon a Changing

2015-12-30 19.33.51

Hair done. No perm.

For years, I’ve embraced the routine that is going to the Dominican Salon.

Step 1: Show up

Step 2: Tell the stylist what you want (usually a perm or wash and set)

Step 3: Wait for them to call you to wash your hair.

Step 4: Get your hair done which includes *drum roll please* washing your hair, getting it conditioned (if they ask), hair dryer for 15 minutes, washing out the conditioner, roller set, sitting under the dryer for 45 mins and then finally the style or wrap.

This is a process I have been doing more or less every two weeks for years. It’s part of the ritual for looking fly. Having a fierce bob to rock is heaven for me. All of you women can relate (or maybe even some men can too) on receiving a nice glow once you get your hair done. Everything and everyone is just wonderful once your locks are looking tight. Sometimes, my style changes a bit but this process has never really changed.

However, since I decided to go natural things are a bit different. Of course, I’m abstaining to putting the relaxer in my hair. So this process, as I learned the other day, will be a bit different. The hair magicians who do my hair for the most part are pretty awesome. But I feel like every time I make a trip to the salon lately, they react to my locks as if my growing truth is an insult to their optics.

Stylist:  Since your hair is not permed, what am I supposed to do?

Me: I don’t know. You can blow it out.

Stylist 2: That’s what I said.

The attitude and shade is enough to keep me away. My hair is different now and I know it’s something they’re not all too used to. But it’s hair. Please just take care of it the best way you know how. It’s difficult enough going through this journey when discovering the “terror spot,” the breakage and the fact that the oh-so-wonderful cream I’ve been using is oh-so-deadly in damaging my scalp. The least I could get is some positive vibes and work ethic. As I go along this journey, I hope to find more people who could bring great energy to me. The shade and attitude package can stay outside. In all, let the new year be more filled with uplifting hair experiences (possibly at natural hair friendly salons?)

Happy New Year! =) =) =)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

