Hair Half and Half

20151204_220147

Hair in natural style on my birthday last year.

 

I’m used to having hair of one. solid. texture. It iis either permed or natural. Hair, pick a side already. The problem I have right now is not knowing what to do with it. When I look in the mirror, I don’t see the same person anymore. No more straight locks. No more bounce. No more stability. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had plenty of days where my hair was out of control when I had the perm. If I did not go to the salon and did it myself, it would make this tent formation. My hand would fly into my hair every so often to erratically comb down the tent into something somewhat pleasant. Of course, my hair had its own plans. It was not going to stay down for nothing.

Now my hair is shorter and mixed: half natural and half permed. Natural hair has an authentic wonder radiating from the truth residing in all of us. Permed hair shows a different transition our hair can go through in bringing out a unique look to our overall character. Both have their definitions of beauty. For the past few years, black women have started to embrace their true locks rather than depending on this chemical tool for straightened hair. I am finally now on this path too. It is just difficult dealing with the two textures at the same time. Before my hair gets to the point of where it was meant to go, it is imperative to take care of the new growth and what is left behind. This means I must learn to embrace both textures. Hair, I am ready to do all that I can for you to be at your best. Even if it means going half and half for the time being.

 

 

Leave a Reply

